J. Ewbank & N. Pujol

Innate immunity in C.elegans

 

Infection of C. elegans by its natural fungal pathogen Drechmeria coniospora leads to the rapid up-regulation of antimicrobial peptide gene expression in the epidermis. We have genetically and biochemically characterized the signalling pathways activated by infection and identified key signalling molecules. Our main focus involves the application of dynamic imaging techniques, in collaboration with the He and Marguet team, to correlate the progression of the infection with activation of these signalling pathways and to changes in host cell biology. In collaboration with the Reactome consortium, we are also applying a Bayesian approach to model formally this innate immune signalling network.

 

The innate immune response of C. elegans to fungal infection of the epidermis can be visualized in real time at the cellular and sub-cellular level using transgenic worms expressing fluorescent reporter genes. Image by N. Pujol.

 

Links

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

PUBLICATION

Close

Jonathan Ewbank

Group leader

+33 (0)4 91 26 94 72

ewbank@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Close

Nathalie Pujol

Researcher

+33(0)4 91 26 91 24

pujol@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Nathalie Pujol is a project leader. She joined the group at its start in 2001 to work on host defence against natural fungal pathogens. Since then her genetic approach has been central to our understanding of the host response to infection. She has more than 20 years experience working with C. elegans. During her PhD and a first post-doc she studied nervous system development.

Close

SongHua Lee

Post-Doc

+33(0)4 91 26 91 24

slee@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Close

Jean-Christophe Lone

PhD student

+33(0)4 91 26 91 24

lone@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Close

Le He

PhD student

+33(0)4 91 26 91 13

he@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Close

Jerome Belougne

Technical staff

+33(0)4 91 26 91 13

belougne@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Close

Shizue Omi

Technical staff

+33(0)4 91 26 91 13

omi@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Close

Clara Taffoni

PhD student

+33(0)4 91 26 91 13

taffoni@ciml.univ-mrs.fr